Sunlit Memories Blog

Everyday is a Sunlit Memory a forever keepsake of those special moments that take your breath away

Looking at Life from Every Angle

Leave a comment

This morning after I had taken my sunrise images as per routine I take Miss Ellie for a walk to the end of the road and back it was a peaceful walk and I was enjoying the sunshine.  I usually if I have managed good sunrise shots hide my camera near the gate so I don’t have to carry it with me so when I went back for it for some reason today I crouched down to pick it up and I felt the sun shining from the corner of my eye .. the fence strainer posts along the side boundary fence caught my eye also and I thought now that is a different way to get a fence post shot so got the camera out got down low and went to take a pic … looking through the lens I see the tree is in the way … hmm … what to do so i move my line of sight a bit more get a bit lower change to the wide lens and get the tree in as well …  I have never noticed this angle before it has always been there but not seen.

I didn’t think much more of it besides the thought to have another go at this angle tomorrow morning .  When I got back to the house and did my morning check on the wonderful Facebook I noticed a post from a friend that I felt compelled to comment on…

the status was …

“Delight yourself in the LORD, and he will give you the desires of your heart.” Ps 37:4

My comment was … Not sure about that I question the hearts desires not what god can give

the way I looked at it was that we all have hearts desires but are they actually what is good for all and the universe??

 Then another person replied with …. I heard it said we often misinterpret this verse – perhaps it means God will place desires in our heart that are in line with his heart, as opposed to just handing out whatever we want. I like that! I want my heart to desire whatever pleases Him. He will ‘give’ us new desires.

This got me thinking how we can all see things from different angles or perspectives it is the same scenery or words but to one it is seen in a totally different way.

Now all this is happening at barely 6am in the morning my mind is pondering all these deep thoughts on life and the angle in which it is seen versus the directions that are taken.  My mind drifts to the fact that I often complain about getting up so early in the morning at the moment to capture the sunrise and that it would be so much nicer to be tucked up in bed for another hour or two.  That is a different angle though if you see it from the negative angle it is an chore but the positive angle is that I get to greet the day every morning with the sun I get fresh air and quiet time while the children are sleeping my mind is clear to ponder such deep thoughts so early in the morning.

While I was musing over this new enlightenment I looked out my office window to notice Miss Ellie lounging sound asleep on the back lawn and thought “isn’t it the life”  to be able to lounge around all day would be so nice .. wouldn’t it??

Hmm … thinking of my recent angle changing experience I decided to think of it from her point of view .. now yes it is nice to be lying there early in the morning but she is outside away from the family then and for most of the day ALL she has to do all day is lounge around and do nothing she must get so bored and wonder why she is there.  I don’t think “it’s the life”  at all.

Maybe this is a new (well it is probably a really old way but new to me) way to get perspective on a situation what ever it is you are doing from taking a photo to making a major choice in your life make sure you look at all the angles before making that choice on how to do something you might get a surprise at what new ideas and directions you can find.

Author: Coralie Plozza

Living on Rainbow Farm with my two beautiful children and fur baby Billy in Busselton, Western Australia provides me with stunning sunrise and sunsets and the beauty of Australia's flora and fauna. I hope to bring just a little bit of inspiration, healing and lots of sunshine to your day.

Leave a Reply

